soniaraowrites

about writing and other such passionate matters

P means POETRY

April is NaPoWriMo month and what better day to talk about it than today.

In 2003, inspired by NaNoWriMo, poet Maureen Thorson decided to write a poem a day and post it on her blog. And when many others decided to do the same, they got together to do it every April. And so, NaPoWriMo was born.

And now, at age 10, NaPoWriMo is bigger than ever before with participation of poetry-writers (poets?) from all over the world.

Here are the links to some beautiful NaPoWriMo poetry:

Daily Riyaaz, edition 2013, with the poets and friends of St. Stephen’s English       

Writing  on Just to Write

Good Universe Next Door

Do you have a favourite poet/ poetry? It would be wonderful if you shared it in the comments.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “P means POETRY

  1. I saw the title poetry in your blog-post and I was expecting a poem!!

    Alas, I will have to wait more.

    The list of my favorite poets is too long. But top favorites will be Edgar Allen Poe, Robert Frost, and Amrita Pritam. My recent favorite poem is Phenomenal Woman.

    Here are few lines from it and a link for you to enjoy it~

    Pretty women wonder where my secret lies. I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size But when I start to tell them, They think I’m telling lies. I say, It’s in the reach of my arms The span of my hips, The stride of my step, The curl of my lips. I’m a woman Phenomenally. Phenomenal woman, *That’s me.*

    http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/phenomenal-woman/

  2. aarti singh on said:

    I love to read your blog,
    whether its on poetry or Q or me or smog
    as long as A to Z it goes
    it surely your talent shows.

    That is my poem for you
    my dear friend so true.

Leave a Reply

