soniaraowrites

about writing and other such passionate matters

Daily Discipline and Deadlines

The box  tells the final figure while the graph gives the true picture.

The box tells the final figure while the graph gives the true picture.

There are two kinds of people doing NaNoWriMo.

Those that write 1666.666 words on every day of the 30 days of November and sail easily into the winning enclosure and get the winners ribbon without too much of disruption to the schedule

The other type is the one who procrastinates in a major way and writes erratically, sometimes just 80 words and other times, stuck to the keyboard, churns out a total of 10K words in a day.

Which is better? It will definitely depend on the personality of the writer but the second method can cause not a little bit of stress towards the end of the month when the deadline approaches, and that is exactly what motivates some wrimos to really go for it.

This is then the USP of NaNoWriMo. The deadline works like the prod that everyday life is not able to provide and the community of other wrimos adds the fun element to the intrinsically solitary pursuit.

In addition, NaNowrimo makes it easier to do it the first way with its word count widgets and graphs and other techno knick-knacks. As you update your word count everyday and see the graph rising, it motivates one to do it again and again everyday till one crosses the 50K mark.

I belong to the second category and every year I determine to do it the other way but so far I have not succeeded even though I have been a winner all the years since I first started in 2009.

Perhaps this year…

What kind of discipline do you follow? Daily or the deadline-induced?

 

Writing Tip #4: “What I try to do is write. I may write for two weeks, the cat sat on the mat, that is that, not a rat.’ And it might be just the most boring and awful stuff. But I try. When I’m writing, I write. And then it as if the muse’s convinced I’m serious and says, “Okay. Okay. I’ll come.” (Maya Angelou)

 

This post is part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge 2014.

My theme for 2014 is here.

This post is about ‘D’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Daily Discipline and Deadlines

  1. Hi Sonia, this procrastination bit, I am really guilty of it….And you say, that you have been a winner from 2009 despite it….Sigh! I have always worked under pressure. But, of late, that tends to churn my insides (mind and body) much more than I can digest. So, the only way out for me would be the first strategy that you mentioned…..
    Nice post….

    http://musenmotivation.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/d-for-duster/

Leave a Reply

