soniaraowrites

about writing and other such passionate matters

HAPPY HOURS

 

HAPPY HOURS

HAPPY HOURS

Wikipedia describes Happy Hour as a marketing term for a period of time in which a public venue, such as a restaurant, bar, bowling alley, stadium, or state/county fair, offers discounts on alcoholic drinks, such as beer, wine, and cocktails.

Well, I am just going to hi-jack the term and use if for the writing that we do during NaNoWriMo (nanowrimo[dot]org). Writing can be fun and must be fun, but when it is solitary it can get a wee bit easy to procrastinate and then very soon we realize that the burden of unwritten words is weighing us down and that sends our mood further southwards.

This is where the Happy Hour comes in. Since the last two years I have made it a point to conduct online write- ins where wrimos from all over the country converge to write the personal pre-determined number of words. So, all those that have been at work the whole day or have goofed off or could not write for some reason or the other, know that they have one more chance to catch up with their word counts during these sessions which could be held for an hour or more. These hours see a lot of kidding around, banter and of course, writing, too. By virtue of being the ML, I would post prompts at these sessions and all would write to them. But this year, the wrimos have been pro-active and themselves held write-ins that continued late into the night or have begun early in the mornings and sometimes even in the afternoons on popular demand. Word sprints were yet another aspect of these sessions. And the payback is that majority of the wrimos completed their 50K words much before the end of November.

So if one is Happy that the Hour was well-spent in writing then can not such hours be rightfully called ‘Happy Hours’?

Writing Tip#8
Do write to the prompts given even if you feel it does not fit your story because sometimes the prompt can open up another perspective or twist to your story. (Sonia Rao).

 

This is part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge and today’s letter is ‘H’.

Read about the theme as well as the ‘A’ post here. You can find the others in the A-Z Blogging 2014 category on the right.

Pic courtesy: Wikipedia

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “HAPPY HOURS

  1. Have you seen this 5am writing club on Twitter? Every morning when I wake up, they’ve been at it an hour or two. I think I’d call that Miserable Hour!

  2. Hi, I am a minion from co-host Pam’s Unconventional Alliance. I am impressed with your progress. I loved your tips on writing to the prompt. I have never heard of wrimos. I will have to look into joining one.

    http://mary-anderingcreatively.blogspot.com

    http://maryanderingamongthepages.blogspot.com

  3. I’m doing Camp Nanowrimo along with the A-to-Z challenge, and I’ve been slightly slacking on my novel. I like the idea of a Happy Hour, though, that’s a nice one.

    http://bit2read.com/

  4. Not my first thought when I hear the expression happy hour, esp with a picture of an Irish pub with it! :)) But I really liked your take on the term and you’re right, word sprints are a great help during nanowrimo!
    Andrea, #atozchallenge Mighty Minion Asset

  5. I love NaNoWriMo! My debut novel coming out June 3 with Entangled Teen was a NaNo novel 🙂 It’s so helpful to have the support and encouragement to keep writing. #atozchallenge

  6. Hi Sonia. Happy Hour is a much needed assignment for all writers. It helps, really helps. If only I could bring in a happy hour every day for my writing…..

    http://musenmotivation.wordpress.com/2014/04/15/hat-it-is-for-the-letter-h/

  7. I am not sure I am great in groups but I did love NaNo ! Fun post and full of great points… #AtoZchallenge ☮Peace ☮ ღ ONE ℒℴνℯ ღ ☼ Light ☼ visiting from http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

